Australasian Region of The International Biometric Society Australasian Region of The International Biometric Society

About us


The International Biometric Society (IBS) is devoted to the development and application of statistical and mathematical theory and methods in the Biosciences, including agriculture, biomedical science and public health, ecology, environmental sciences, forestry, and allied disciplines. It welcomes as members statisticians, mathematicians, biological scientists, and others devoted to interdisciplinary efforts in advancing the collection and interpretation of information in the biosciences.

The Society publishes two journals, Biometrics, reporting communications consistent with the Society's mission, and, jointly with the American Statistical Association, the Journal of Agricultural, Biological, and Environmental Statistics (JABES).

The IBS is organised into geographically-defined regions, each with at least 50 members. The Australasian Region is one of over 30 regions under the IBS umbrella. It provides members of The International Biometric Society who predominantly reside in Australia and New Zealand a local focus and support for biometrics undertaken in this region. The by-laws for the region date from 1995.


Please refer to Biometric Bulletin Vol 17 No 3 (July-September 2000) by Sue Wilson for details.

Our members

In 2018 there are about 230 financial members of the Australasian Region. Almost three-quarters of our members reside in Australia, with more than half of these from the states of Queensland and New South Wales. The other quarter of our members are mostly from New Zealand, although we also have members that reside in England, USA, China, Germany and Thailand.

Key Dates in 2018

Membership renewals

Early January: Membership renewal forms posted out
February:Membership renewals due.
end March:Members who did not renew in 2017 are struck off.
end April:Members from 2017 who have not renewed for 2018 become unfinancial and receive no further electronic nor paper publications.

Regional news for inclusion in the Biometric Bulletin

needs to be received by end of January, July each year. Please email Vanessa Cave of AgResearch, Hamilton, NZ, with your contributions.

Last updated 3 December 2017