Australasian Region of The International Biometric Society Australasian Region of The International Biometric Society

Regional council

The Australasian Region is governed by a council comprising the President, Vice president or Past president, Treasurer and Secretary of the region as well as the regional newsletter correspondent and regional representatives to IBS. We also have one member on the new IBS Executive Board and three on Council as seen below.

Nominations for each vacant position are called for by the Secretary towards the end of the calendar year prior to the bi-ennial regional conference. If more than one nomination is received for a particular position, then members are required to vote for a preferred candidate for the position. Otherwise, no formal election is necessary.

The regional council currently comprises the following people:

Name Employer Position Term
Samuel Müller University of Sydney President 2017-2018
Ross Darnell CSIRO, Queensland Past President 2017
IBS Council Member 2015-2019
David Baird VSN, NZ Secretary 2016-2017
Warren Müller CSIRO, Canberra Treasurer 2000-2017
Vanessa Cave AgResearch, Hamilton, NZ Biometric Bulletin correspondent 2014-2017
Hans Hockey Biometrics Matters Ltd, NZ Regional website manager 2009-2017
Brian Cullis University of Wollongong IBS Executive Board 2017-2020
Alison Kelly Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries IBS Council Member 2017-2021
Kevin Murray University of Western Australia IBS Council Member 2017-2021

Last updated 24 August 2017